An Adventure with Curry

I seem to have an insatiable craving for Asian food. I’ve branched out in the last year from egg rolls and stir fry to other dishes, like curry. Since I eat a lot of rice and chicken anyways, I figured it’d be fun to try making my own curry. I found a dairy free recipe here which uses coconut milk. So last night I was in the mood to experiment, and made my first curry! I was ready for it to be an epic fail, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good it turned out! I halved the recipe for just one serving, but then I ended up having to add more broth and milk at the end because it had reduced so much. I didn’t want the rice to absorb all the curry, I wanted to have some extra sauce. I also didn’t have all the seasonings on the list, so I made do with curry power, chili powder, lots of garlic, and my all-time favorite seasoning: ginger! It was a bit on the spicy side, which I didn’t really mind. I don’t have much tolerance for spice, but I do enjoy eating foods that are a little too spicy. Maybe I like the sensation of my tongue burning? Haha…

I’ve been reading up on ways to  improve circulation, since I think I might have Raynaud’s Disease. Everywhere I read, they say to eat spicy foods! That should also help with the remaining congestion I have. So I am excited to have another delicious spicy food recipe!

I couldn’t remember what veggies traditionally go with yellow curry, but I didn’t have a lot of options anyways, so I threw in a mix of frozen Thai-style stir fry veggies. It was okay, but probably isn’t the ideal veggie complement. So I’ll have to do some research before my next curry and try something else!

But overall, it was surprisingly successful. I thought making curry would be this very difficult and daunting process, but it was a lot easier than I had anticipated.

One thought on “An Adventure with Curry

Leave a comment